Watch Dustin Johnson’s Terrible Break at the WGC-HSBC Champions

Tough break here.  This happens every so often.  Brutal kick off the PIN!

Dustin Johnson had one of the worst breaks of the week during the final round of the WGC-HSBC Champions on Sunday in Shanghai, and it cost him a couple of spots — and a bunch of cash — on the leaderboard.
Hitting his approach shot on the par-5 eighth hole, Johnson’s shot ricocheted off the flag — Apparently it was too accurate? — and spun off the green. To make it worse, it spun all the way off the putting surface, rolled down a hill and into the water.

“Cruel,” the commentator said afterward.

Cruel indeed. DJ dropped and made double-bogey and finished T5 at 16-under,four strokes behind winner Russell Knox.

You can watch the shot below. The crowd reaction says it all.


Tiger Woods undergoes back surgery to remove disk fragment

Tiger is undergoing another physical ailment here in 2015, his back again.  Lets hope to see a quick recovery  Read the article here:

On the heels of a trying season that saw him fail to seriously contend in major championships and miss five cuts while his world ranking plummeted, Tiger Woods announced Friday night that he underwent a second microdiscectomy surgery on his back Wednesday.

Woods first underwent this surgery in March of last year, which limited that season to only seven PGA Tour starts.

His latest announcement revealed that he won’t play any of his three scheduled tournament starts remaining this year, instead saying he is hopeful for an “early 2016” return.

“This is certainly disappointing, but I’m a fighter,” Woods said. “I’ve been told I can make a full recovery, and I have no doubt that I will.”

Woods said via his personal websitethat he had felt discomfort in his back and hip in recent weeks, including during his season-ending 10th-place result at the Wyndham Championship last month. The surgery removed a small disk fragment that was pinching a nerve.

The surgery came as a surprise, said Woods’ agent, Mark Steinberg. Just last week, Woods had formally committed to play in the Open next month. But he had a previously scheduled follow-up doctor exam at which, Steinberg said, an issue in the same area of his back was discovered.

“He committed, thinking it was going to be a regular checkup,” Steinberg told “Obviously, that area where he had the microdiscectomy had to be treated again. And it leads us to where we are now.”

Steinberg would not say how soon after the appointment the surgery was performed but acknowledged, “It was a really quick turnaround. It wasn’t what he expected. … But it was a really quick turnaround. not because something had to be done right there right now; it was so he could get back to golf as soon as he can. The doctor has told us that’s a good prognosis from that standpoint.”

The announcement on Woods’ website states he “will begin intensive rehabilitation and soft tissue treatment within a week. Healing and recovery times differ for each individual based on many physiological factors, but Tiger is encouraged he can return early in 2016.”

The surgery was performed in Park City, Utah, by neurosurgeon Charles Rich, who also performed the initial microdiscectomy operation.

Woods, who holds the record for most weeks atop the world ranking at 623, is currently 283rd in those standings.

Source: ESPN

Rules of Golf update: Anchor ban, incorrect scorecard

Interesting new news on some of golf’s oldest and newest rules challenges.  Read here:

The R&A and USGA released the 2016 edition to the Rules of Golf on Monday with four significant changes.

While most of the attention during the current four-year update cycle has been focused on the impending ban on anchoring during a stroke (Rule 14-1b), which was announced in May 2013, the overall theme of the most recent edition is simplicity.

“We continually look at ways we can improve and clarify the Rules of Golf,” said David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of rules and equipment standards. “The R&A and the USGA collaborate closely and we consult with our respective national and international advisory members to produce a code of rules that is relevant to all golfers around the world.”

The most significant change may have been to Rule 18-2b. A player is no longer deemed to have caused a golf ball to move after address, and rules officials will take a more nuanced look at possible violations to consider other factors, such as the amount of time taken after a golf club is grounded and the ball moves.

The rule was adjusted in 2012 to consider the possibility of wind moving a golf ball, and a one-stroke penalty will be applied only when the facts show that the player caused the ball to move.

The USGA and R&A also added a “limited” exception to Rule 6-6d and the penalty for signing an incorrect scorecard.

A player will no longer be disqualified for returning a lower score for a hole than actually taken as a result of failing to include penalty strokes that the player was not aware of when he signed his scorecard.

The best example of this is Camilo Villegas who was disqualified from the 2011 Hyundai Tournament of Champions after violating Rule 23-1 (moving a loose impediment that might influence the movement of his golf ball). The violation wasn’t discovered until after Villegas signed his scorecard.

Under the new edition, Villegas would have been assessed a two-stroke penalty for signing an incorrect scorecard but would have been allowed to continue playing in the event.

Similarly, D.A. Points was disqualified from the 2014 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am for using a training aid, a spongy green ball he uses to keep his arms “connected,” during the second round.

Under an edition to Rule 14-3, the violation for a first use of an “artificial device or equipment” will now be a two-stroke penalty. The penalty for a second breach of the rule will continue to be disqualification.

Among the litany of changes, however, next year’s ban on anchoring will continue to dominate the conversation in rule circles in the immediate future. Although most PGA Tour players have already made the transition to a non-anchored putter, like Adam Scott who arrived at this month’sPresidents Cup with a standard-length model, there are still a few holdouts – like Tim Clark – who will have to make the change after Jan. 1.

R&A and USGA officials said they anticipate some players will keep using longer putters without anchoring, and that the new rule is “intent based” and there would be no violation if the club inadvertently brushes against a player’s body.

Source: The Golf Channel

A Picture is worth a thousand words